We have retention schedules in place to ensure that information is only held for as long as it is needed.
Any membership not used for three years will automatically be deleted, unless there are outstanding loans or money owing on the account, in line with the LIS retention schedules.
LIS are part of the “Tell us Once” scheme whereby, if we are informed via this system that a member has died, their account is deleted. Any outstanding fines are waived and items still on loan will be marked as missing.
We will not keep your information for longer than is required to by law. Your information will be disposed of in a controlled and secure manner in accordance with the council’s Records Management and Data Quality Policy. The council’s IT security and confidentiality policies ensure that your information is protected, and accessed only by staff directly involved in your case.
For information on how long your information will be held, visit the retention page.